Bartlett High School baseball has a proud tradition, which may well have really begin in 1941. It is generally conceded, especially by many historians, that the ’41 squad was the best ever. The Indians won 14 games without a loss, for the school’s first undefeated baseball season.

This team was made up of outstanding athletes, who were ambitious and enthusiastic. They went on an unbelievable offensive rampage that season, compiling a .396 team batting average.

Andy “Kuba” Jarzabski toppsed the list and holds the all-time school batting average with .531. Sam Cowicz hit .500.

Some other averages were: John Horniak, .466; John Stefanik, .400; Ed Kaczmarek, .359; Ray Gagnon, .357; Bernard “Pinky” Penkala, .345; Chet Starzec, .290; and Paul Deary, .263.

The team had two aces on the mound, with Horniak compiling an 8-0 record and Gagnon finishing with 6-0.

According to the 1941 Chronicle Yearbook, other team members were Ray Carrier, Tom Gorski, Water Sterczala, Alex Borodenco, Earl Evans, Francis Jeneral, Paul Gareau, Tony Maisto, Arthur Sak, Lennie Gadoury, Lionel Nadeau, Robert Nadeau, Edgar Scheffler, Ken Smith, and Wilfred Pelletier. George Finnegan coached the team and Charles Leigh was team manager.

The Indians scored 172 runs while opponents managed 48 during the 14-game season for an average of 13 to 4 runs per game. Bartlett was crowned Worcester County Champion for its amazing season.

Six regulars were selected to the Webster Times Big Three High School all-star team. They were: team captain Cowicz, Jarzabski, Gagnon, Horniak, Stefanik, and Penkala.

Cowicz, Stefanik, and Deary have, as individual athletes, been inducted into the Bartlett High School Athletic Hall of Fame.