The accomplishment of the 1978-79 Bartlett High School Boys Basketball Team, which defeated powerhouse Cathedral High of Boston 85-73 to win the State Division III Championship, is forever etched in the annals of Bartlett athletics, since it marked the first and only state title in the school’s history.

Their outstanding effort brought a sense of pride and unity to the school and the entire community.

Bartlett finished its best year with a 21-5 record, including the Clark University Small School crown, a District III title, and the State Championship.

Tonight we honor those team members for their outstanding achievement. It is with a great deal of pride that we introduce and induct them into the Bartlett Sports Hall of Fame.

Team members are Brad Smith, Jamie Hetherman, Jim Piette, Brian Sgariglia, Charles Nikopoulas, Jack Daveau, Lester Magnant, Mark Begreen, James Poblocki, Ted Przybylek, Robert Knych, and Greg Fiddes.

The coach of the 1979 championship team is Bob Paranto.